KO KO 28 29 40 40 40 48 48 48 54 54 64 65 69 FT


TeamTriesMissed ConversionDGConversionsPointsOutcome
Munster Women000Loss
Barbarians Women310219Win


For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

Roberts finishes classic score as women’s team open with Munster win

England’s Georgina Roberts finished off a classic Barbarians try as the club’s female history-makers opened their account with a 19-0 win over Munster.

Head coach Giselle Mather had assembled a vastly-experienced side with representatives from eight countries on show at Thomond Park. And despite the torrential rain in Limerick both sides were committed to entertain with the Barbarians awarded a first half penalty try before second half strikes from replacement wing Roberts (Darlington MP) and Ireland prop Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere).

Gloucester-Hartpury centre Megan Goddard added a conversion and picked up the Player of the Match award for her all-round excellence in midfield. France lock Lenaige Corson (Stade Rennais) and Wales flanker Rachel Taylor (Caernarfon) weren’t far behind her in a Barbarians pack that pinned Munster back for long spells.

The Baa-baas’ best first-half spell came 15 minutes in when Taylor bust through tackles only to be held up five metres out before her side spilled the ball having worked an opening on the left. They also tried to inject some magic with a penalty move saw the ball chipped over the Munster line without being able to recover it.

Corson battered her way to get over the line on the half-hour without being able to ground the ball but from another dominant Barbarians’ scrum that followed, Munster stood up and then tried to prevent Kelly Russell from playing the ball with referee Frank Murphy awarding a penalty try.

The opening stages of the second half were equally tight as Munster kicked for more territory until the Barbarians pulled away with two excellent scores. Egan finished off a sustained attacking spell with Rachel Taylor and Corson heavily involved with a drive into the left-hand corner and replacement hooker Egan eventually forcing her way over with Goddard converting. And their third try was a classic. A turnover won on their own 22 was moved quickly down the left where Nora Stapleton and Christelle LeDuff combined to send England centre Roberts charging away from 40 metres out.

MUNSTER (first-half): L O’Mahony; D Nic a Bhaird, A Staunton, C Arthurs, S Pua; V Power, N Cronin; F Hayes, E Murphy, G Bourke; N O’Connor, C Pearse; D O’Mahony, S Fleming, A Caplice.

MUNSTER (second-half): L McNamara; L Sheehan, N Kavanagh, R Allen, T Collopy; E Murphy, H McDermott; L Lyons, Z Grattage, F Reidy; E Foley, R Ormond; C O’Halloran, S McCarthy, C Griffin.

Referee: Mike Scanlon (IRFU).

Munster Women

# Player Position TRY CON PEN DG YC RC
15Laura O’MahonyFull Back000000
14Deirbhile Nic A BhairdWing000000
13Anie StauntonCentre000000
12Christine ArthursCentre000000
11Syphonia PuaWing000000
10Valerie PowerFly Half000000
9Nicole CroninScrum Half000000
1Fiona HayesLH Prop000000
2Edel MurphyHooker000000
3Gillian BourkeTH Prop000000
4Nuala O’ConnorLock000000
5Chloe PearseLock000000
6Dinah O’MahonyBack Row000000
7Siobhan FlemingBack Row000000
8Anna CapliceBack Row000000
16Linda McNamaraFull Back000000
17Laura SheehanWing000000
18Niamh KavanaghCentre000000
19Rachel AllenCentre000000
20Tracy CollopyWing000000
21Ellen MurphyFly Half000000
22Helen McDermottScrum Half000000
23Leah LyonsProp000000
24Zoe GrattageHooker000000
25Fiona ReidyProp000000
26Eileen FoleyLock000000
27Roisin OrmondLock000000
28Clodagh O’HalloranBack Row000000
29Siobhan McCarthyBack Row000000
30Ciara GriffinBack Row000000
 Total 000000

Barbarians Women

# Player Position TRY CON PEN DG YC RC
15Elen Evans 20Full Back000000
14Tova DerkWing000000
13Vicki Jackson 21Centre000000
12Megan GoddardCentre01 (65')0000
11Jackie Shiels 22Wing000000
10Christelle Le DuffFly Half000000
9Emma Jensen 23Scrum Half000000
1Fiona Coghlan 17LH Prop000000
2Amy Garnett 16Hooker000000
3Claire Cripps (nee Purdy)TH Prop000000
4Marie-Louise Reilly 19Lock000000
5Lénaïg CorsonLock000000
6Susie Brown 18Back Row000000
7Rachel TaylorBack Row000000
8Kelly RussellBack Row000000
16Allis Egan 2-1 (64')00000
17Tracy Balmer 1Prop000000
18Edel McMahon 6-000000
19Becky Essex 4-000000
20Nora Stapleton 15-000000
21Amanda Thornborough 13-000000
22George Roberts 11Scrum-half1 (69')00000
23Tania Rosser 9-000000
Penalty Try-1 (28')1 (29')0000
 Total 320000


Date Time Season
10/11/2017 4:45 pm 2017-18


Thomond Park
Cratloe Rd, Limerick, Ireland